Police Records Requests
The Police Records Unit is located inside the City of Golden City Hall and is available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., holidays excluded.
Fees may be required to obtain certain documents through the Police Records Unit. Please refer to the Fee Schedule for more information.
Obtaining a Police Report
The Golden Police Department follows the Colorado Criminal Justice Records Act, to include all applicable Colorado Revised Statutes and Golden Police Department policies, when releasing our criminal justice records. There may be instances that you will be referred to either the Jefferson County District Attorney to request discovery or to the Jefferson County or Golden Municipal Court for information that we are not able to provide.
To save time, as well as make certain that the report is available, it is best to contact the Records Unit prior to coming to the police department. Reports will not be faxed.
To expedite the request, you must provide at least one item from the below list:
- A case report number
- The date and location of occurrence
- Any involved parties
In order to request a copy of a report you must first fill out and sign a request form. You may obtain the form in several different ways.
1) You may request the report in person at the Police Department, and complete the form.
2) You may print out a copy of the Application for Release of Criminal Justice Records , complete the form and include a copy of your ID and/or Drivers License, and fax it to (303) 384-8077 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
3) Request a Report System https://secure.coplogic.com/rar/startrequest/200001623 This system allows you to request and pay for a report online.
4) Mail it to:
Golden Police Department
911 10th Street
Golden, CO 80401
Call with questions: 303-384-8035
Once we have your form, we will research whether or not the report/information that you need is releasable.
If you fax in your request we will call you when we know if the report is releasable and how much it will cost. You are then required to either mail in payment or come in to make payment before we will release the report to you.
If you are mailing in your request and need to know how much your report will cost, please call us prior to mailing in the request and we will determine the cost for you so that you can include payment with your request form.
If you come into our office, in most cases, we will process your request while you wait. If it is a complicated request or a request that will take a lot of time to process we may require the 72 hours we are allowed by law to process your request. In any event, we will do our very best to process your request in a timely manner.
Traffic Accident Reports
State traffic accident reports may be obtained and purchased in person through the Records Unit. An application for release of criminal justice records must be completed. You may also purchase a copy of the state traffic accident report online at Report Beam. Reports after June 18, 2018 will need to be requested through the records unit. As of January 1, 2020, state traffic accident reports can be purchased through Carfax at crashdocs.org. Whichever method you use to purchase an accident report – in person or online – the cost of accident reports is $7.00.
If you wish to purchase any additional supplemental forms such as an investigative report (if applicable), witness statements etc., there is an additional fee and you must contact the Records Unit directly.