The Moffat County Sheriff's Office was founded in 1911 and today serves approximately 14,200 citizens who call Moffat County home. Moffat County was created and became an individual political subdivision on February 27, 1911. This occurred when the western portion of Routt County was divided, reducing the size of Routt County, creating Moffat County. Moffat County is the northwestern-most of the 64 counties in the State of Colorado, covering 4,751 square miles, the second-largest geographical county in the State of Colorado. Moffat County is bordered by Wyoming to the north and Utah to the west.

The men and women of the Moffat County Sheriff's Office are committed to serving the people of Moffat County. Our Team is guided by the Core Values of;

Character / Integrity / Service / Communication

The Moffat County Sheriff's Office Core Values are much more than minimum standards. They remind us what it takes to accomplish the mission. They inspire us to do our very best at all times. They are the common bond among all team members, and they are the glue that unifies the Moffat County Sheriff's Office. They tie us to our mission, vision and the guiding principles we live by as public servants.

Guiding Principles

  • We take pride in our duty to protect the constitutional rights of all individuals;

  • We will respect each other and the public we serve;

  • We will strive for excellence in all we do;

  • We strive for continual improvement in self and service;

  • We believe we work for and with the citizens of our community in a partnership based on mutual trust;

  • We believe that while crime prevention is our primary goal, we should vigorously pursue those who commit serious crimes.